Twitter Facebook Flickr Youtube RSS Share

1st April 2014 - Press release from the French Mission to the United Nations

First anniversary of the adoption of the Arms Trade Treaty (ATT) / Joint ratifications ceremony

On 2nd April 2013, after a negotiation of seven years, the UN General Assembly adopted the Arms Trade Treaty (ATT) in order to regulate international trade of conventional arms and to fight against illicit trade of arms which contributes to organized crime. To this day, the Treaty has been ratified by 13 States. The ratification by a minimum of 50 States is necessary for the Treaty’s entry into force.

To celebrate the first anniversary of the adoption of the Arms Trade Treaty, the UN will organize a ceremony on 2nd April 2014. 18 States, including France, will deposit jointly their instruments of ratification and the number of States parties to the Treaty will double. A major step towards the entry into force will be made.

The event will take place tomorrow 2nd April at 10AM in the Trusteeship Council room of the UN. It will be entirely open to the press.

Deputy Secretary General Jan Eliasson and Mrs Anna MacDonald, representing the NGO Control Arms Coalition, will make introductory statements. Closing remarks will be made by Mrs Virginia Gamba, UN Deputy High Representative for Disarmament.

During the ceremony, the Treaty will be ratified by: France, Germany, Bulgaria, Croatia, Denmark, Spain, Estonia, Finland, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Malta, Romania, Salvador, Slovakia, Slovenia and the UK.

3 June 2013 - Ambassador Gerard Araud, Permanent Representative of France to the United Nations, signs in the name of France the Arms Trade Treaty - Photo: Franceonu

Bookmark and Share
Bookmark and Share
Organisation des Nations Unies Présidence de la République France Diplomatie La France à l'Office des Nations Unies à Genève Union Européenne Première réunion de l'ONU